review blog

RECARO Performance Ride Review and Giveaway!

August 1, 2014

123

The RECARO Performance Ride is the ultimate car seat designed for safety, comfort and style.  When I look into buying a car seat, quality and safety is always the first thing I look for.

I also like to choose a car seat that will adjust with my baby as she grows, from rear facing to forward facing, the RECARO Performance Ride has all of these wonderful features!

When I got a chance to review the Performance Ride, I jumped at the chance!

RECARO has been making history for over 100 years and is one of the best known seat manufacturers in the world.

RECARO not only makes car seats, they make Aircraft seats, Race Car seats and more, they have won numerous awards and their products are of the highest quality on the market.

When building a product, RECARO doesn’t just focus on what they are creating, they focus on movements, anatomy and physiology of the human body and even use scientific research to create the perfect product.

RECARO performance Ride

One of my favorite things about the RECARO Performance Ride is the easy to use quickpull front adjust harness.  When my son was born I had to adjust the seat from the back which was a complete pain and the first thing I look for in a car seat now is that quickpull harness at the front!

123

The quickpull harness is so easy to use and adjust, it makes life so much easier and allows for a no hassle harness adjustment.  I couldn’t be more pleased with the quality and design of the quickpull harness, if it’s too tight it takes about a second to adjust, if it’s too lose, just tighten it up with a pull!

Impact Protection

The car seat is designed for side impact protection which means if your car was to be hit on the side your childs head, face, neck, torso and pelvis would have distinct protection against those 5 vulnerable areas.

I think this is extremely important in choosing a car seat, you always want your child to be safe, accidents can happen any time and with the RECARO Performance Ride I have a much better peace of mind.

44

EasyAdjust 5 Point Harness

Untitled-2

I believe all child car seats should have a 5 point harness, not just for ease of use but for safety!  The Performance Ride 5 point harness and head restraint are both are both adjusted together, making it easier to use with no re-threading so you can properly position the harness shoulder straps to suit your child.

SoftTouch Head Restraint

321We just took a vacation in the Cascade Mountains near Stevens Pass, WA and this head restraint is a must have for long trips, not just for safety, but for comfort.  If you are driving for 300 miles with a baby in the car, you want them to be as comfortable as possible, which means less crying and more smiling!  I love how soft the head restraint is and Sophia looked super comfy.

The head restraint is padded with real automotive PUR (Poleyurethane) foam and provides the added safety and comfort.  It is also easy to adjust with just the turn of a knob so you can position it to fit your child perfectly for the utmost safety and comfort.

Rear Facing and Forward Facing

If you are using the performance ride as a rear facing seat it can accommodate children from 5 – 40 pounds.  When you switch the car seat around it can accommodate children that weigh from 20 to 65 pounds.  The infant insert is also removable.  Children up to 49 inches tall can use the Performance Ride!

Sophia is only 7 months old right now and rides rear facing, I recommend using the car seat rear facing for as long as you possibly can.

Rear facing supports your child’s head, neck, and back much better if an accident were to occur.

The car seat also adjusts so it can be leaned back and your child will feel comfortable, it’s also good if you have a certain type of car which only has a limited amount of space as the RECARO Performance Ride is a very large and extremely comfortable seat!

IMG_1226

When your child is old enough, there is also a place for a sippy cup and they can set it down in the cup holder once they are finished!

The car seat also features visible one of a kind racing inspired stripes that will alert you when the harness is not properly aligned.

Overall Thoughts

This has to be the best car seat I have ever used, from comfort to safety, this exceeds my expectations and I would recommend RECARO to anyone looking for a safe comfortable ride for their child.  My favorite thing about the RECARO Performance Ride has to be the quickpull harness, it is super easy to use and extremely safe.

The material that makes up the car seat cover is fantastic for summer, your child will not get hot or sweaty sitting in the Performance Ride, the material is beautifully soft, durable and cool.

Shop

RECARO Car Seats are sold at stores such as Toys R Us and are available in a range of different colors, you can also purchase directly from Amazon Click Here!  You can also check out the recaro website, click on the “Where to Buy” section for more information!

Connect

RECARO can also be found on Twitter and Facebook, connect with them for news, updates and more!

Giveaway

RECARO has kindly offered to give one of my blog readers a chance to win one of their amazing Performance Ride Car Seats in the same Marine color shown in my review!

Enter Below, Open to US residents.

Disclosure: I was sent products for the purpose of a review, regardless all opinions stated are 100% my own.

  • Candie L
    August 4, 2014 at 1:43 am

    I love the alert to let you know the harness is not properly aligned. Thank lyou

  • jenn huey
    August 4, 2014 at 1:59 am

    So many great things about this carseat. I like the seatbelt cover of the lap portion so when it gets hot from the sun, babies skin is protected

  • Colleen Boudreau
    August 4, 2014 at 2:06 am

    I love the SoftTouch Head Restraint.

  • Tara Bixler
    August 4, 2014 at 6:31 am

    I love that it is rear facing and forward facing so it can used whe there young and then when they get bigger.It saves money on not having to upgrade and buy a whole new carseat

    • Lyn
      August 4, 2014 at 6:35 am

      Totally agree!

  • anne stewart
    August 4, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    I love the design and color options!

  • Lindsey
    August 4, 2014 at 2:47 pm

    I love that it’s rear & forward facing!

  • Amanda Heck
    August 4, 2014 at 5:59 pm

    Love the head restraint and that it is adjustable for when our little guy Axton grows!

  • Tiffany R
    August 4, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    I love that it is rear and forward facing.

  • Megan
    August 4, 2014 at 7:21 pm

    I think the most unique thing is the head restraint. Also, that it can also be forward facing for those older babies=)

  • Dena Marie Furgason
    August 4, 2014 at 7:54 pm

    i love all the safety features of this seat. I also love the colors.

  • April Farley
    August 4, 2014 at 8:23 pm

    The head restraint is super awesome! The whole seat is excellent! I would ride in one if it was my size!

  • Tom Bellamy
    August 4, 2014 at 8:44 pm

    My favorite feature is that the Performance Ride 5 point harness and head restraint are both are both adjusted together, making it easier to use with no re-threading so you can properly position the harness shoulder straps to suit your child.

  • BEAR
    August 4, 2014 at 10:30 pm

    THE SAFTEY FEATURES AND RELIABILITY OF THIS CARSEAT

  • Natalie
    August 4, 2014 at 11:24 pm

    I love that the head restraint is padded with real automotive PUR (Poleyurethane) foam for extra protection and padding.

  • Stacy Renee
    August 4, 2014 at 11:39 pm

    The extra safety features have definitely sold me on this car seat! 🙂

  • KaylaSue Simundson
    August 4, 2014 at 11:45 pm

    I love the quickpull front adjust harness it makes it so easy!

  • Julie Mauricio
    August 5, 2014 at 7:12 am

    I really like that the car seat can rear face up until 40lbs and front face up until 65lbs with a 49″ max height. And for them being around for over 100 years that’s saying a lot about this brand! Thank you for sharing your review!

  • Allie
    August 5, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    I like the height accommodations

  • Samantha Plotkin
    August 5, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    I love that it grows with your little one from 5lbs to 65lbs!

  • Barbara Bradford
    August 5, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Has to be the 5 point harness, it looks so sturdy, yet comfy.

  • Kathy Stahlman
    August 5, 2014 at 3:14 pm

    Everything about it is great.

  • Lisa Williams
    August 5, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    I like the easy adjust 5 point harness,and the alarm if it isn’t aligned right,This car seats just sounds so comfy.

  • Rachele W.
    August 5, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    The non-rethreading harness!!! Love that feature.

  • Yamilet
    August 5, 2014 at 8:44 pm

    I love the 5 point harness and of course the safety features.

  • Lilia Kharabora
    August 5, 2014 at 8:59 pm

    I enjoy that its both Rear Facing and Forward Facing! 🙂

  • Emily
    August 6, 2014 at 2:59 am

    It’s nice that the car seat is so versatile!

  • Judith S
    August 6, 2014 at 3:08 am

    The 5 point safety harness. It is all about safety, the most important feature.

  • Jennifer Marohn
    August 6, 2014 at 3:24 am

    I love that this seat fits smaller babies too.

  • Michelle T
    August 6, 2014 at 3:56 am

    I love that it’s rated for 5-65lbs! It’s so awesome that you don’t have to buy multiple booster seats!

  • Laura E. Castillo
    August 6, 2014 at 5:33 am

    All the safety features!

  • Laura E. Castillo
    August 6, 2014 at 5:41 am

    Love all the colors!

  • Madalyn Haire
    August 6, 2014 at 9:36 am

    I like that it’s a rear & forward facing seat & my family loves the “racing seat” look/design

  • Ashley Kline
    August 6, 2014 at 2:45 pm

    Love love love these car seats only ones we use for our babies!!!! So safe would not have them in anything else!!!!! 🙂

  • Noah
    August 6, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    Looks great…very safe car seat that has been tested by 3rd parties!

    Needs a travel carrier though!!

  • Melissa Hogstad
    August 6, 2014 at 3:01 pm

    Looove RECARO- we only had it for our first son, and it was no question on getting another for our 2nd- love the look, design, safety, and all around entire seat!

  • Sarah M.
    August 6, 2014 at 3:02 pm

    I love all of the safety features of this seat (extra head protection, easy no re-thread harness that ensures correct height and no mistakes when changing the height, side impact protection, etc!). I would love this seat for my little one who has just had skull surgery. It would make me feel more at ease during our trips up to see her Drs!

  • Brittenge Lindsay
    August 6, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    I love the HERO technology, the durability, and the comfort that it would give me knowing my child is in one of the safest car seats there is on the market.

  • Lucie
    August 6, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    The head restraint, so much more well developed for babies comfort than other seats!

  • Nicole Bircher
    August 6, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    My 2 year old daughter my husband and I absolutely love this car seat we love everything about it Definitely cant wait to get one for our 4 month old son!!

  • sara cole
    August 6, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    After researcjing, Recaro seems the best. I’m actually entering to try and win a carseat for one of my friends who is in need.

  • Danielle Jones
    August 6, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    I LOVE the safety aspect of all RECARO seats. I have done a lot of research, for forward and rearfacing car seats. RECARO has always been my #1 pick, and I will belly up the $ for my baby to be safe!

  • Karen Langan
    August 6, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    The cute color and reliable safety record!

  • Crystal Davis
    August 6, 2014 at 4:17 pm

    My favorite thing about recaro seats is the safety of them. They are heavy and big and while these things may seem like complaints, and often are from other people, I like it. To me the seat feels sturdier and safer. Plus the height of the seat keeps my kids happy cause they are high enough to see something other than the tops of trees zooming by. Yes they are a pain to get the seat in and installed because of the size and weight but at the same time I don’t want to trust my most precious cargo to something that feels light enough to throw. I only wish recaro would increase the weight and height limits for rear facing. In case it’s not obvious I did have a recaro seat with my first son. He LOVED it until he grew out of it and I wasn’t ready to turn him around. He reached the height limit long before he even turned two. Unfortunately, my recaro seat is now expired so my second son will not be able to enjoy it.

  • Haley Crook
    August 6, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    I love Recaro products. My 2 older kids both have prosports and I just LOVE them. I would love a performance sport for my third child!!

  • Judy Cox
    August 6, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    The safety features are the main thing in a car seat, and this has so many high quality safety features. I also like that it is made to keep the baby comfortable.

  • Christine Yvonne Groce
    August 6, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    Love the carseat for it’s usage ease and safety features.

  • Sheila Coughlin
    August 6, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    Would love this carseat for my grandson – this is obviously the best seat on the market today.

  • Susan Campbell
    August 6, 2014 at 5:55 pm

    I’m loving the head restraint and that it’s both rear and forward facing!

  • Krista
    August 6, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    I love that it accommodates children up to 65 pound and 49 inches. I want to keep my child in a five point harness for as long as possible, but many seats he has almost outgrown.

  • Anonymous
    August 6, 2014 at 9:37 pm

    That color is stunning! Nice looking car seat.

  • kelly c
    August 6, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    I love the rear facing up to 40 lbs!!!

  • jenn mcclearn
    August 6, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    I love that it has a quick pull adjustable harness 🙂

  • Jeanette
    August 7, 2014 at 1:34 am

    I love how comfortable and safe they are!!!

  • Caitlin Richmond
    August 7, 2014 at 2:47 am

    First of all, the safety features are amazing on this cat seat! But also, I love the look and feel of the ProRide!

  • Charissa
    August 7, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Very cool that Recaro makes baby seats. Now daddy and baby have another thing in common!

  • Tina C
    August 7, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    I love that it can be used rear facing and forward facing. I also love the safety feature it provides.

  • Sarah Griffin
    August 7, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    I love RECARO car seats period!! I have the Performance sport for my older son. What I like best about this one is that I could use it rear facing for my 11 month son for quite some time. I think the coolest aspect of RECARO seats are that they also make race car seats! How cool is that?!?! I can be confident that they make the safest and highest quality seats for their consumers.

  • Tiffany P
    August 7, 2014 at 4:34 pm

    Seems super safe!

  • Jutta P.
    August 7, 2014 at 11:29 pm

    I love the weight range!

  • Rebecca Parsons
    August 8, 2014 at 4:12 am

    I love that babies that are small can fit in this without having to have an infant car seat.

  • Joelle S.
    August 8, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    The Quickpull adjustment system! I struggle to adjust our current car seat. It’s so frustrating!

  • Tiffany W
    August 8, 2014 at 4:35 pm

    I love how the weight limit is higher than alot of carseat we have looked. It does not seem as bulky as the 1 we are currently using. Its also brand new our carseat is old and need to be replaced.

  • chrisgharmon
    August 8, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    Love all the safety features.

  • Daraya
    August 10, 2014 at 3:20 am

    I love the head restraint – I feel like it makes the car seat so much safer for babies and infants! 🙂

  • MarciaF
    August 10, 2014 at 3:54 am

    The name Recaro alone makes me interested in this since it’s always been known for quality. I love that I can use it both forwards and backwards and it would help for the next 3 or more years.

  • Rita Spratlen
    August 10, 2014 at 9:06 pm

    I love that it has great features and is styled very nice. It is one of the top models out there for safety which is very important to me.

  • Christy Rivers
    August 10, 2014 at 10:05 pm

    My husband and I have been researching the RECARO Car Seats. They are amazingly safe car seats and we can’t wait to get one. Due Feb-10th-2015

  • Samantha Jenkins
    August 10, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    My son is very tall for his age so I love that it can hold a child up to 49 inches!

  • Kimberley Meier
    August 11, 2014 at 8:05 am

    My favorite feature would be that it’s designed for side impact protection.

  • jennifer webb
    August 11, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    My favorite by far. My toddler loves his. And looking for another for my baby on the way!

  • lori
    August 11, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    I like the height and weight range and safety features.

  • Katie F
    August 11, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    I love the safety and the ease. It would be a fabulous carseat for my tiny 1 year old.

  • Aaren Dean
    August 11, 2014 at 2:12 pm

    I would love a Recaro seat but just can’t afford it!

  • Breanna W
    August 11, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    My family loves recaro. its stylish, safe, and my daughter is comfy in her seat! Plus, its easy to get her in and out without the straps getting twisted!

  • christina p
    August 11, 2014 at 3:29 pm

    I love the weight/ height limit and safety features

  • cali clement
    August 11, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    My sister swears by these car seats for their safety ratings and our owns two for her boys. I would love to win one for my son who will be needing one before we know it! .

  • alieshazoe
    August 11, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    I love that it grows with the baby!

  • Carol
    August 11, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    I love the side impact protection and the sturdy headwings.

  • Bethany S
    August 11, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    I love that this seat fits children from 5 to 65 pounds…. Not to mention all the safety features and the color! Love it!

  • Christina F.
    August 11, 2014 at 9:06 pm

    it’s silly, but my favorite thing is the cupholder. our current seat doesn’t have one and i can’t believe what a mess even a “leak-proof” water bottle can make if it’s set open and upside down in the car seat… 😉

  • Eva Marie
    August 11, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    I love that it has air vents too to keep the child cool

  • michelle griswold
    August 12, 2014 at 8:44 pm

    No more rethreading the straps!

  • Sarah Johnson
    August 13, 2014 at 3:16 am

    The stripes that alert you to the harness not being correct. Every carseat should have that!

  • Leela
    August 13, 2014 at 10:02 am

    Full-Body Side Impact Protection.

  • Jenn King
    August 13, 2014 at 12:21 pm

    It’s a recaro! Everything about it is awesome.

  • Lesley F
    August 13, 2014 at 4:07 pm

    I like the material it is made out of

  • nickie
    August 13, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    I like the 5 point harness.

  • Stephanie Larison
    August 13, 2014 at 9:37 pm

    The 5 point harness, because it’s a must!

  • Shayna
    August 14, 2014 at 12:43 pm

    I LIKE THAT THE CAR SEAT CAN ACCOMMODATE CHILDREN UP TO 65 POUNDS 🙂

  • Jill Myrick
    August 14, 2014 at 5:35 pm

    My favorite features are the side impact protection and extra head protection that the Recaro offers.

    jweezie43[at]gmail[dot]com

  • Daniel M
    August 14, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    The Performance Ride 5 point harness so they stay secure

  • Hesper Fry
    August 15, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    I like that children up to 49 inches tall can use the Performance Ride!

  • Stacey Roberson
    August 15, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    I really like that this can be used both rear facing and forward facing.

  • maria c
    August 16, 2014 at 1:39 am

    My favorite feature is the 5 point harness and head restraint.

  • kathy pease
    August 16, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    I love the SoftTouch Head Restraint

  • Jenny Moses
    August 16, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    I love that it can be used for children up to 49 inches tall. My little guy seems to be growing like a weed!

  • Victoria
    August 16, 2014 at 7:07 pm

    I really like that it can face forward or back and babies from 5 up to 65 lbs can fit in it. IT would help us a lot not to have to buy 2 car seats. I also like the safety features like the side impact protection

  • Anonymous
    August 16, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    The easy adjust five point harness is one of my fav. features